Review of “The Good Lie”

“The Good Lie” is a movie about the struggle of south Sudan children, victims, refugees…people. What struggle? Watch the movie; you’ll see. I had no idea either. This movie took me from making jibes about Reece-with-her-spoon, to wanting to give away everything I own to help homeless victims of war. It humbled me to see what these people had to go through: houses burned to the ground, families murdered, and siblings separated by bureaucracy.

This movie impressed me because I could see what differences in culture can do to relationships. I feel spoiled yet jealous, spoiled because of my wealth, jealous because I want to live in a world where my neighbors and family know my name, where values matter, where honor is worth more than employment. What have I learned from this movie? Be not only tolerant but learn about other people. Assimilate their good character into my life. “Misunderstanding is the prelude to offense” -James E. Talmage, Jesus The Christ.

2 thoughts on “Review of “The Good Lie”

  1. So, Warren, now that you have seen the movie, are you newly afflicted with the condition called “AFFLUENZA?” I hope not, and if you are, I hope it isn’t contagious…

    Like

    • I am not afflicted with affluenza, if you are referring to anti-consumerist, anti-manufacturing, anti-industry. I believe in hard work and reaping the benefits. I don’t believe in thrusting my opinion upon others just because I think it is superior, who am I to judge? I believe in feeding a man forever by teaching him to fish, rather than feeding him for a day by giving him a fish. I believe that we, sons and daughters of God, were placed upon this earth to gain a body, gain experience, and prove ourselves worthy to return to the father’s presence. In a developed, industrialized society, we can gain more knowledge, an eternal treasure, but we can also accumulate excessive wealth. I believe that if one’s needs are met, then the rest should be used to “to clothe the naked, and to feed the hungry, and to liberate the captive, and administer relief to the sick and the afflicted.” (Jacob 2: 19, The Book of Mormon: Another Testament of Jesus Christ)

      Like

Comment if you dare ;)

